Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Well, my Sunday Poetry followers, we finished Where the Sidewalk Ends on Sunday. Can you believe it? We’ve now made it through two whole poetry books, and it is time to begin a new one!

I like to work through a poetry anthology, and a particular poet, at the same time. Right now our anthology is The Hungry EarSince Silverstein was a man, and mostly writes poems for children, I decided to choose a female poet. Although, I think that children can enjoy Emily Dickinson as well as adults, we don’t think of her as primarily a writer for children, so I chose her to give us some variety.

2015-09-07 12.31.38The edition I’m using was published in 2006 by Castle Books. It is a book I’ve had since college, and honestly, I don’t know where it came from. If I had to guess, it was probably picked up off the bargain shelf or at the used bookstore I frequented in college, The Dusty Bookshelf (hmmm, I didn’t realize this until now, but perhaps this influenced my choice of blog name, loved that place).

I’m looking forward to delving into some E. Dickinson. It has been a long time since I’ve read her work, and I remember how I always found something new. I’m sure this will continue to be the case. See you on Sunday!

