Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking about adding a new feature to my blog schedule for a while now. Since taking Blogging University courses through WordPress I’ve also been trying to think about how to do posts using different types of media. Finally an idea hit that takes care of both goals.

Next Friday I will post the first Family Reading Friday post. On the final Friday of each month I will post Family Reading Friday (don’t you love the alliteration). This will be a post featuring an audio or video recording of a family reading together. I will start with my own of course, but I welcome others to participate as well.

GreeneggWhat exactly does this mean, a family reading together? An example would be a book that has a repeating refrain, like Green Eggs and Ham. Mom, dad, older sister or brother, grandma, grandpa, next door neighbor, aunt, uncle, or any other adult or older reader can sit down and read Green Eggs and Ham with a baby, toddler, or younger reader. When the repeating refrain of I cannot eat them Sam I am, I cannot eat green eggs and ham occurs the little ones say it, or repeat it with the older reader. You record this either as an audio file or as a video.

Another example could be a book that requires action like Eric Carle’s Head to Toe. Once again, an older reader reads it, and younger ones do the actions. This one you would definitely want to video.

512DGSS87KL

There could be hundereds of different ways to do this. The main point of this series is to feature families and friends enjoying reading together. I want to provide examples of all the ways you can get kids interested in books and reading as a family. Literacy is so important for success, and in my opinion, happiness in life. However, if you haven’t been exposed to all the fun that can come from books and reading, you may be at a loss as to how to encourage it with your children or young acquaintances.

Of course, this will also be a way for us to share and exchange book recommendations as well.

If you are interested in participating, or in having a recording of yours featured on one of my Fridays, please leave a comment on this post or contact me on my contact page. Let’s try this for a few months and see what happens.

