Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve read David Baldacci books off and on for the past 10 years. I usually enjoy them for their fast pace and action. They are easy to read, engaging, and I like the characters. Recently, I tried my first audio book by Baldacci, The Escape.

It has been a long time since I’ve talked about any audiobooks, and I have a long list to catch you up on. Those of you who’ve been around my blog for a while know that I am a huge fan of audiobooks, especially for long car rides with Husband.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is not a book I listened to with Husband though. I listened to this one while running errands and driving 40 minutes (round trip) to my evening teaching gig. The Escape is the third book in the John Puller series by Baldacci. It is a newer series, and I must say, these are probably my favorite books by Baldacci that I’ve read…um…listened to, so far. I haven’t read everything by Baldacci, so there is a possibility that he has several others I would like just as well. With that said, it is possible I like them so much because of the readers. I’ve listened to all three on audio. The audio versions of these books have both a male, who does the majority of the reading, and female reader. The female reader does all the spoken female dialogue. I’ve developed a fondness for Ron McLarty and Orlagh Cassidy (yes, I spelled her first name correctly).

Now, I will say, that they don’t always do completely different voices or accents for all the different characters. Once in a while the dialogue of two or more can run together. However, they portray main characters well, and McLarty has a soothing voice to listen to.

These books feature an army criminal investigator named John Puller. The female leads change in each book, though there is one recurring female character. The books always surround the investigation of a murder, and John often turns to his brother for ideas, and assistance once in a while. His brother was a quick rising star in the air force until he was convicted of espionage and imprisoned at Leavenworth. Interested yet? You should be.

His father makes several appearances in the books as well. He was, at one time, a three star army general and a legend, by all accounts. He is now in a facility, having been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. There are a few other interesting tidbits and mysteries surrounding the Puller men, but I want to leave you to discover a few things on your own.

I imagine that reading the books would be just as fun, but if you are looking for a good book to listen to on a long and boring car ride, the John Puller series is a great place to start.

