Tags

, , , , , , ,

2014-06-04 13.42.31In my mind food and books go hand in hand, like chocolate and peanut butter, beer and pizza, Brad and Angelina. If I ever have the luxury of eating a meal by myself (a rare occurrence with two toddlers running around) I always eat with a book in front of me.

Books + Food = Ahhhhhh

This is why I was delighted and thrilled to stumble upon The Little Library CafeThis blog is all about books and food. Food and books. The first post I stumbled upon was Marmalade Roll. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe. Kate started her post with an excerpt from the book where Mrs. Beaver produces a sticky, yummy marmalade roll for the children. (Yes, I’m salivating too. We don’t know what marmalade rolls are in Kansas, so I think I’ll send Husband to the donut shop…) Then she provides a recipe for a Marmalade Roll. This may be enough to make me want to cook more.

Kate’s blog got me thinking…what books do I associate with food? What food do I associate with books? Do I associate a food that is mentioned in the book, with the book, or do I associate a food I ate while reading the book, with the book? The mind is full of twisting paths.

So, here are a few of my book/food combinations. (I’m thinking of making this a regular feature on my blog, what do you think?)

  • Agatha Christie – Anything Agatha Christie makes me want to make a piping hot cup of Earl Grey (with milk please, thank you), and sit down with some buttered toast. Perhaps its the whole cozy mystery thing. I also associate Earl Grey with Star Trek and Captain Picard, so there you go…
  • Hunger Games – Burned bread and hearty stew. Do I need to explain?
  • Harry Potter – Harry Potter is full of foods, and mostly I associate jelly beans with this series (Bertie Botts you know) and chocolate frogs of course, except I noticed I began craving puppy chow when I really started thinking about HP. I finally realized why. Christmas is when I used to always read a Harry Potter book, and at Christmas there is always puppy chow around. I used to make it, now I get it from my mother-in-law. Tradition.
  • Longmire Series by Craig Johnson – Frozen pot pies. Read the books.
  • Sue Grafton’s Alphabet series – Quarter Pounders with Cheese, fries, and a Diet Coke. You know why…
  • Lord of the Rings – Beer by the pint.
  • The Boxcar Children – Cold milk and apples.

I could go on, but I will stop here and ask, what foods and books go together for you?

