Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Once again, it is preview time. I’m wrapping up my juvenile lit surge and introducing some new names.

2014-09-25 10.17.31The Spymistress was on a bookend at the library one day while I was perusing the new releases. It caught my eye and I picked it up. I guess it tells the story of a woman who worked as a union spy in the south during the civil war. The civil war is a part of our history I know little about, so I’m interested to find out what kind of history is interwoven in this story.

The Memory of Running does not look, or even sound, like the type of book I would normally pick up. It’s about a man in his 40s who is an overweight drunk when his parents are killed in a car crash. That same week he discovers that his older sister has also died. This ordinary man with the interesting name of Smithy Ide, ends up getting on his old bike imgresand going for a ride…Yeah, we will see where it goes from there.

At the library the other day my 4 year-old and I were looking at the Magic Tree House books. (I did a post about how we were reading chapter books together.) Something caught my eye on a shelf nearby, and it turned out to be a very old edition of Mary Poppins. Now, I’m sure somewhere deep in my brain I realized that Mary Poppins was a book before it was a movie (one of my favorites growing up), but it still surprised me to see a book version, and not just one, there were three different Mary Poppins books on the shelf. So I picked the first one up. We will see if it conjures the same emotions in me as the movie did.

2014-10-09 08.09.16Last is my nonfiction pick. I haven’t read one of these in a while. Mrs. Kennedy and Me was recommended at a book-talk lunch I attended last month. Several of the people there had read it, and the way they talked about it caught my interest. Our library had it, so I picked it up. I know next to nothing about the Kennedy’s except they are American royalty. I’m prepared to be educated…

