Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

harry-potter-booksSo, the list of banned books is extensive, and there are many favorites of mine on it. I know…call me a rebel. Harry Potter books top the list of most frequently banned books from 2000-2009 and I must say they are right up there in my top 5 faves. If only I could write like that Rowling woman…

The Giver is on there as well. This was my first book to truly love. I read it in 7th grade. The movie just came out in the states, but I haven’t had a chance to see it yet.

Bridge to Terabithia…really? On the banned book list? I remember loving that book and crying while reading it. I do not remember why it might have been banned. Perhaps I should reread it.

Why are so many of these books juvenile and adolescent literature? I’m sure I could write several posts on this. I think the short answer is that juvenile and adolescent lit is putting out some great stuff in recent years. There is some truly phenomenal writing and story telling going on in these areas.

The Chocolate War…probably because of the masturbation scene. Oh, and the rebelling against authority part. And the beating up of boys….

Ooo, A Time To Kill is on the list. Way to go Grisham. I don’t read everything he writes (honestly, it isn’t all good), but this was a great novel.

The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien. Oh man. That book was good, but it sunk me into a depression.

Why do people try to ban books that impact human emotions? Is it because of the challenge to previously held beliefs or views? Or maybe they just hate to be made to feel something real. You never see Harlequin romance novels on these lists despite the sex scenes…

Okay, I could keep going as I read through the lists about great books, good books, kids books (yes there are some picture books on this list..Sendak of course), but I need to provide a short list of books I plan to read by this time next year.

Banned Books I will endeavor to read by September 2015:

imgresFahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury (I’m ashamed I haven’t read this one yet. It is considered a classic.)

A Prayer for Owen Meany, by John Irving (I’ve not read a John Irving novel yet…I know, I know…)

The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood (This one has been floating in and out of my to read list for a while.)

Shade’s Children, by Garth Nix (It’s been a while since I’ve read  Garth Nix, but I loved his Abhorsen Trilogy.)

Well, these are the four I will tell you about come Banned Books Week next year. A classic, two adult novels, and an adolescent lit. I would love to hear from you about the banned books you are particularly fond of, or tell me which ones your inner rebel wants to read for next year.

