Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

2014-09-13 16.17.17

This summer a good friend of mine returned from a vacation with a precious gift for me. It was a reading journal for book lovers, and it is wonderful. Now, I’m not much of a journaler by nature. In my house growing up, the less you wrote down, the less evidence there was against you. If mom found it, it was up for grabs. Best not to leave a written record was our motto. She learned this from her mother and handed it down to me. I’m sure it has been handed down through the generations.

However, this journal is different. For one, I won’t be writing about my life or daily activities. What I read is a relatively safe thing to write about…now that I’m an adult. There are many precious tools in this journal for book lovers, but I’m only going to talk about one today.

2014-09-13 16.13.00The lists. The back of this journal is full of book lists. It lists the Pulitzer Prize winners from 1948 to 2009, when it was apparently published. But it has lines for you to fill in the winners from the last four years. It has a list for the National Book Award, the Man Booker Prize, Pen/Faulkner, and more!

Next to each item on the list is a check box. Yes! A box that you check once you have finished reading that item! How wonderful!

Now, I know that many of you are rolling your eyes and thinking, “Yeah I can type that up on a word document.” But honestly…it is not the same. The lists are already compiled in a book journal. Professionally published! This implies that the books on these lists are important for book lovers and those with well-read-literature aspirations to read. Also, it is in a beautifully bound book on thick cream colored paper. It is so…literary and official. Anyway, I needed some direction in selecting books, so I’ve decided to start with these wonderful glorious lists!

I haven’t chosen one to start with yet, and I am still debating how exactly to use them, especially in concern to this blog. I will report back once a plan is solidified.

 

