Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This is not the second Ian Rutledge mystery, it is the 9th or so. When I was at the bookstore last it was the only one I could find. I had a hankering for a historical fiction mystery so I picked it up.

2014-08-20 14.28.35I probably enjoyed this one a little more than the last. This book doesn’t start off with a murder, but a hostage situation. Ian is called in when one of the men who was under his command in the war takes the wife of another man hostage and insists the only person he will speak with is Rutledge. These two didn’t even like each other, so the tension starts off early and continues on. Of course, during the course of the book murder does come to play a role.

As always I love the historical setting. Rutledge is haunted by one of his officer’s from the war. Hamish speaks to Rutledge and lives with him day by day as a voice in his head. He is Scottish and opinionated. There is of course a history between them and there is a reason Rutledge is haunted by this man. Whether it is an accurate portrayal of what some of the men who suffer shell shock (PTSD), go through I don’t know. But I think it is a good way to get those of us who don’t have first hand knowledge of what its like, to have better understanding and compassion for what may be going on with men who suffer from this. It is important to find good mediums for sharing different view points and perspectives, and reading these books has got me thinking about such things in a new way.

I’m a big proponent of reading historical fiction. What a great way to educate yourself while being entertained!

