Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been craving comfort reads as I contemplate the end of summer and the start of chaos. These are occupying my nightstand as of now.

2014-08-17 18.55.42The Husband and I have been into a new TV show titled Longmire. Once I discovered that this show was based on a book series I had to track it down. This is a modern western. It is set in present day Wyoming, which if you can judge by the TV show, is beautiful if extreme. It is about the Sheriff Longmire, of the least populated county in the least populated state. Last time I was at the bookstore I was able to locate the series, but they didn’t have the first book. So, I purchased Death Without Company, because I couldn’t stand to wait. I started it immediately. (Incidentally, this is why I didn’t finish my science book from my summer reading goals.) Once we returned from vacation I looked for Craig Johnson books at my library and was elated to discover that not only did we have some, we had the first one, The Cold Dish. I’m sure I will have posts that are entirely too long for both of them.

2014-08-17 18.55.49I also picked up another Charles Todd mystery, A False Mirror. It isn’t sequential either, but I don’t care. I was craving the comfort of back to back mysteries leading up to having to prepare lesson plans. In an effort to branch out, I pulled a book titled The Great Husband Hunt off the library shelf. It isn’t the type of book I would generally check out, which is partly why I pulled it. However, I was intrigued with the cover. Check out that gun those ladies are wielding!

2014-08-17 18.57.17Lastly, the next book for our book club came in. We are reading The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon. Apparently this book has an interesting spin since its narrator is autistic. It sounds like it will be really interesting…

