Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I decided to do a bit of Googling and select books for my summer reading goals. I figured I would probably need to interlibrary loan most of them, unless I wanted to buy them, which I probably won’t do. Thus, I needed to some research and make some choices before heading to the library. Here they are:

imgres-1History: History of the World in Six Glasses by Tom Standage

A History of the World in 6 Glasses presents an original, well-documented vision of world history, telling the story of humanity from the Stone Age to the twenty-first century through the lens of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola. (Barnes & Noble Overview)

I’m not sure why this appeals to me, but it does. It may be a bust. We will see.

imgres-2Science: We Need to Talk About Kelvin by Marcus Chown

Look around you. The reflection of your face in a window tells you that the universe is orchestrated by chance. The iron in a spot of blood on your finger tells you that somewhere out in space there is furnace at a temperature of 4.5 billion degrees. Your TV tells you that the universe had a beginning. In fact, your very existence tells you that this may not be the only universe but merely one among an infinity of others, stacked like the pages of a never-ending book. Marcus Chown, author of “Quantum Theory Cannot Hurt You”, takes familiar features of the world we know and shows how they can be used to explain profound truths about the ultimate nature of reality. His new book will change the way you see the world: with Chown as your guide, cutting-edge science is made clear and meaningful by a falling leaf, or a rose, or a starry night sky. (Amazon Overview)

Philosophy: A Little History of Philosophy by Nigel Warburton

This engaging book introduces the great thinkers in Western philosophy and explores their most compelling ideas about the world and how best to live in it…He provides interesting and often quirky stories of the lives and deaths of thought-provoking philosophers from Socrates, who chose to die by hemlock poisoning rather than live on without the freedom to think for himself, to Peter Singer, who asks the disquieting philosophical and ethical questions that haunt our own times. (Barnes & Noble Overview)

imgres

Now, it was suggested by a reader that I check out some of my local history books. I wanted to assure her, and others that thought that would be a great idea, that I plan to. I did not select a local history book for this particular goal, but I have plans for some Kansas reading in the future. I will keep you posted.

As it is, I think these three books meet my criteria pretty well. They are general, which I wanted since I consider myself a novice in these areas. Also, they fall between 250 and 400 pages in length which I consider challenging yet doable. I hope to have read all of these books by they end of August. As I finish them I will post about them to keep me accountable.

 

