Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Lately goal setting has been on my mind. This happens to me at the beginning of summer, although this year it was amplified by my reading The Happiness Project. There is the inevitable: Lose Weight. However, there are always others like; organize all my closets, plant a garden, keep up with the weeding, and begin playing the piano again. Now, usually only half of the goals I begin with are followed through to completion, so this year I wanted to be smarter about my approach. This past year I learned that if I focus on fewer more will get done. Focusing on only a few goals allows me to do a better job, and I am often able to start, or complete, a few others on the side because I’m not overwhelmed by all I’m not accomplishing. Not sure why this works this way, it just does. Psychology is crazy.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about reading goals. As a teacher my students always had reading goals. These included earning so many points and reading at least one nonfiction each nine weeks. My boys are signed up for summer reading and have a goal of 50 books. Last year I set a goal, or perhaps a resolution, to read a presidential biography every February. Lately the question of what it takes to have a solid background in classic literature has been on my mind. What exactly should one have read in order to be considered well-read in classic literature? Do you need to start with Homer or Dante? Can one mix it up with some Twain and Dickens? I have an English degree and I’ve read a lot of literature. However, I’ve discovered I really haven’t read as much as maybe I should have. The idea of starting a young adult/adolescent literature reading group (anyone interested?) has been weighing on my mind. I’ve been feeling uneducated in the history department, so history books should begin piling up on my shelves. My interest in science is growing and I find myself considering Stephen Hawking. Clearly, I need focus.

I am hoping you will hold me accountable. This next week will be spent trying to settle on three reading goals for the summer. Next Thursday I will share them with you. If you have any suggestions or ideas for me, PLEASE feel free to drop me a comment. I would love some input.

“It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.” 
― Oscar Wilde

2012-05-12 12.57.08

