Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

2014-05-14 09.10.55Yes. I live in Kansas and have never read The Wizard of Oz. I have seen the movie, but I never once picked up the book. I have this aversion to reading books AFTER I’ve seen the movie. I love reading books and THEN watching the movie, but it never appeals to me to do it the other way around. So, The Wizard of Oz book was never on my radar since I’ve been watching the movie my whole life.

However, as an English teacher, a lover of literature, and a Kansan it is high time I sat down and read the first book in Baum’s Oz series at the very least. So The Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum is on my list to read this month. Apparently there are 14 books in this series, so if I enjoy it you may get the pleasure of hearing about all 14. We will see.

Oz is considered a Juvenile Fiction book, and there is also a Young Adult book on my list this time around. The Scorch Trials, by James Dashner, is the second book in The Maze Runner Series. I read The Maze Runner a few years ago, long before the second, and now third and fourth prequel, books were published. A movie over the first book is set to come out in September this year, so I thought I should maybe catch up on the series. I need to remind myself about what happened in the first book too, since it has been a while.

2014-05-14 09.11.20It isn’t all kids books however. I’ve got The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd in queue. I read The Secret Life of Bees many years ago, but never got around to reading any other Kidd novels. I thought it was probably time I checked out another one of hers. Since Bees was good, but sad and heartbreaking in so many ways, I’ve avoided her books. I’ve got to spread books like that out. Too much sadness in my reading life can depress me beyond all recovery.

Lastly, I have a book titled An Irish Country Wedding by a man named Patrick Taylor. I purchased this book on a whim on my last bookstore visit. I’ve a feeling it is a completely different type of book from what normally choose to read. It sounds like a comforting and calm read, which I may need to break up this list of books.

 

