Tags

, , ,

Every month I sit down and write down blog post ideas for the coming month. I look at the calendar for significant holidays and events and plan my posts accordingly. About a month ago I sat down to plan May. Without really thinking about it I wrote down books for mother’s day on my planner for today’s post since Sunday will be Mother’s Day. However, a couple of days ago I sit down to prepare this post and realized….I’ve no idea what to write about this. I’ve never received a book for Mother’s Day. Granted, I’ve only been a mother for four years, so there is still time for this to happen. But it hasn’t yet.

So, I decided to Google books for Mother’s Day. As you can imagine, there was a wide array of results. Most of them consisted of lists from different sites like Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Goodreads. All of them touted that this was  a list of good books for Mother’s Day and they ranged from children’s picture books about Mother’s Day to suggestions for books to buy based on what type of mother you had. For example, if your mother was a lit major buy her the Elizabeth Strout novel The Burgess Boys. If your mom is scientific get her Gulp by Mary Roach, and if she is into travel buy her Here, There, Elsewhere by William Least-Heat Moon (yes, that is his name). Other lists were made up of parenting books, happy memory journals, and 10 Habits of Happy Mother’s. And of course, most of the parenting books had pictures of smiling svelte mothers and gap toothed grinning children, indicating that this is what motherhood looks like. Get yourself some kiddos and you can be this happy too. It brought to mind beer commercials, if you know what I mean.

Anyway, I’ll be honest. I have no recommendations for books for Mother’s Day. We don’t own any picture books about Mother’s Day either, so I can’t give you a review or list of great kids books on Mother’s Day. My husband will actually be at a NASCAR race for Mother’s Day, so my gift (if I’m lucky) will be my children sleeping in on Sunday morning. I’m sure the hubby will think of something for me before or after, and it will no doubt consist of flowers, and maybe a night out without the little ones. And that is just fine with me.

I would love to hear if any of you have recommendations, or ideas for books for Mother’s Day. Perhaps next year I will be a little more prepared.

IMG_1432

One of my favorite parts of mothering is giving kisses. My boys are still young enough I can do that. I know it will change soon, so I get as many in as possible.

