Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I don’t exactly remember when I discovered Elizabeth George. Like Coehlo, I believe it was during my book store days. So many diamonds in the rough back then. Anyway, after picking up her first book, and loving it, I went out and read all of them. Since then I’ve tried to revisit her books from time to time to catch up on the new ones that come out. Why does it seem like authors take FOREVER to write a book?

2014-04-28 11.00.10Something happened to me with Believing the Lie that hadn’t happened in a long time. I phased out. What I mean by this is, I don’t really remember much about the days I was reading it, besides the reading itself. I believe it took me three to four days to get through it. During that time I read. I’m sure I fed my children, changed diapers, and got them to their activities. I know this because there is evidence of it not happening. No diaper rashes, they are clean (relatively), no one is starving, there are new crafts on the fridge, and the house doesn’t look any worse than it did before. But I don’t actually remember much of it. This is because for every moment I could slip away to read, I did. I know. I’m a bad mother. Maybe not always, but once in a while I slip. I do apologize, but sometimes reading does this to me. I have a feeling I’m not the only reader this happens to either. Anyway, there are times in life you phase out, and last week I phased.

I’d forgotten how much I love these characters. I probably haven’t read a George novel in two years or so. I’ve had a hard time returning since Helen’s death. George is actually an American. She lives on the west coast, but these novels are set in Britain. Now, I’ve never been to the U.K. myself, but I read a lot of British literature and fiction. My personal opinion is she does pretty well with the language, atmosphere, and culture. Please speak up and correct me U.K. readers. I’ll admit, all I have to go on is reading and TV shows.

This book had quite an intricate plot line. There were twists, turns, cul-de-sacs, and secrets around every corner. This was impressive given the fact that the death around which this story is set is an accidental drowning. And the ending!!! UUGGGHHH. Luckily at the end of my novel they, kindly, provided a sneak peek at the next one. I think I might have gone crazy if they hadn’t. Such a cliff hanger….poor Havers. I have already downloaded the next one from Audible. By the time this post hits the net I will have started listening to it on my drives to work.

Needless to say, I recommend this book. However, if you haven’t read any George before, go check out the first one A Great Deliverance and start from there. You have 18 books to phase through. Might want to block out your calendar for the next few months…


National Day of Prayer

Today is the National Day of Prayer. As a book/literacy blogger I want to encourage those readers who are religious to pray for the illiterate and uneducated in our nation, and across the world. God Bless.

