Tags

, , , , , ,

The official start of spring was the 20th, and it is the only reason I can think of for the strange collection of books I have waiting to be read. However, I love it when I’m strange. I don’t know if it is any fun for anyone else, but it is a good time for me. This book list includes a few old favorites, a new experiment, and a familiar author.

2014-03-22 10.54.16Let’s start with a throwback, and I mean WAY back. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about the books I read in grade school. During a recent spring cleaning I came across some old paperbacks from back then. They were missing chapters and pages because, well first of all they were cheap, but secondly they were well loved. So, I went down to the library and picked up a copy or two from there. The Boxcar Children were essentially required reading if you grew up here in Kansas I think. Outside of our small town along the highway on a hill there is an old empty boxcar in a pasture. A friend of mine confided to me recently that she was always sure that the boxcar children lived there. It’s been sitting there for a long time. Anyway, I am going to reread the first few Boxcar Children books and see if they are as good as I remember. Also, they are short easy reads, the perfect thing to follow up my presidential biography.

Next up is a book I’ve owned for over a decade. I loved it way back when, but it has been a long time since I’ve read it. I recently purchased another title by the same author, and before I read the new one I want to review the old one. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho was one of those books that made me think, but I remember it also being soothing. It was a spiritual read, a lot of his books are. They hit you in silent thoughtful places. Love him.

Okay, this  next one is not my typical fare. To be honest, I don’t know what made me pick it up. Gretchen Rubin writes a column in Good Housekeeping and I’ve seen it while flipping through magazines in the doctor’s office recently. That must be why her book The Happiness Project, caught my eye. Anyway, I’m going to give it a read. To be honest, I think I’m reading it out of jealousy, to see what it’s like. How lucky she is to have found a way to study and write about happiness to make a living. Yep, I’m jealous.

Elizabeth George has been a favorite mystery writer of mine for a long time. She has been quite successful with her novels being adapted for television in the Inspector Lynley series. I love Havers and Lynley and the St. James’. They are an interesting mix with some interesting back stories. Her last few books though have lost my interest. Not enough of Havers and Lynley’s usual banter, and I miss it. However, I went ahead and picked up Believing the Lie this week while at the bookstore. We will see what this one has going for it.

