Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy President’s Day to those of you who reside within the U.S. I thought today would be a good day to announce which presidential biography I’ve chosen to read this year. I toyed with reading something not quite a biography, but related, like a book on president’s wives or a certain era of the presidency. However, after taking the time to browse the shelves at the library I discovered a bio that I think will work well.

2014-02-14 10.04.30

I’ve chosen His Excellency by Joseph J. Ellis. This is a biography about George Washington by a pulitzer prize winning author that is less than 300 pages long. Perfect. It is also good because I can probably list the facts I know about Washington on both hands, two of which would involve a cherry tree and wooden teeth. Anyway, I am in the middle of a book, but as soon as I finish it I will pick this one up and report back.

The other two books on my list are vastly different from the biography, and each other.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater is a take on the water horse legend. It is a young adult book, and I expect it will be a quick and entertaining read. Stiefvater has written a few New York Times bestselling novels, one of which is Shiver. This will be my first experience with her writing; if I like it, I’ll no doubt check out her other books as well.

Serena was a finalist for the Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction and is by Ron Rash. The blurb on the back promises “a gothic tale of greed, corruption, and revenge” set in North Carolina in the 1930s.  There is also something about “America’s burgeoning environmental movement”. So there you have it, should be an interesting and wild ride. I’ll let you know.

